ashes-soil

DESIGN MIT STORYTELLING

ASHES AND SOIL - Feature im the wearness Journal

ASHES & SOIL verbindet Design mit Storytelling. Das Mode-Label greift mit seinen Kreationen Schicksale von Randgruppen auf, die in der Gesellschaft sonst keine Plattform haben.

„Ich wollte nicht mein Leben lang meine Kapazitäten einsetzen, um die Träume eines anderen aufzubauen. Ich will meine eigenen Gedanken realisiert sehen und dabei andere inspirieren es ebenfalls zu tun,“ sagt Martina Offeh. Die Kreativdirektorin ist der Kopf hinter ASHES & SOIL. Sie hat das Label 2019 gegründet und legt den Schwerpunkt seitdem auf interkulturellen Austausch und die Repräsentation von Minderheiten in der Gesellschaft.

Founder of Ashes and Soil - the wearness journal

AHES & SOIL Gründerin: Martina Offeh

In vielen Regionen an der westafrikanischen Küste werden psychisch Kranke von der Gemeinschaft ausgestoßen und bekommen keine professionelle Hilfe. Viele Betroffene wissen überhaupt nicht, was mit ihnen los ist. Die erste Kollektion, „Introspection“ ist deshalb acht von ihnen gewidmet. Auf der Firmenwebsite ASHES & SOIL hat das Label die Geschichten der Testimonials über den Kampf mit psychischen Problemen und deren Stigma dokumentiert.  

Die Kollektion besteht aus acht Modellen, eines für jedes Testimonial: Vier Wollmäntel, drei Lederjacken und eine Steppjacke. Jedes Teil spiegelt die Geschichte eines der Betroffenen wider. So ist das Innenfutter mit illustrierten Porträts bedruckt und das integrierte „Storylabel“ erklärt, was die Person durchgemacht hat. Mit dem Erlös von „Introspection“ wird die Organisation „On The Move e.V.“ unterstützt, die sich weltweit für seelische Gesundheit einsetzt.  

The current collection: ASHES AND SOIL - the wearness journal

Die aktuelle Kollektion von ASHES & SOIL

Wichtig ist für das Label vor auch, die Herkunft der Testimonials optisch aufzugreifen. Deshalb finden sich in jedem Teil afrikanisch inspirierte Details. Der Reverskragen in einem Schnitt ist zum Beispiel von den bunten Dashiki abgeleitet, die in Westafrika traditionell getragen werden. Generell arbeitet AHES & SOIL mit möglichst authentischen Farbschemata, Mustern und nativen Stoffen.

Trotzdem werden die Produkte der Marke nicht in Afrika hergestellt. Die Lederjacken werden naturgegerbtem Leder in der Türkei gefertigt. Wollmäntel und Steppjacken entstehen in einem lokalen Betrieb in Deutschland, wo garantiert faire Arbeitsbedingungen herrschen.

„Wir sind auf einer Reise, um Geschichten einzufangen und die Möglichkeiten der Kunst neu zu definieren, indem wir unser Erbe, unser Handwerk und unsere Überzeugungen in Einklang bringen,“ erklärt das Label. Wir sind gespannt, welche Geschichten Ashes and Soil als nächstes erzählt.  

Charitable Icon the wearness Handcrafted Icon the wearness Made In Europe Icon the wearness Organic Icon the wearness

Female Empowerment Icon the wearness Eco-Frienly Icon the wearness Fair Icon the wearness

SHOPPEN SIE UNSERE AUSWAHL VON ASHES & SOIL - DESIGN MIT STORYTELLING

ASHES & SOIL Sustainable Leatherjackets - the wearness Online-Shop

ashes-soil

DESIGN WITH STORYTELLING

ASHES AND SOIL - Feature im the wearness Journal

ASHES & SOIL combines design with storytelling. With its creations, the fashion label picks up on the fates of outsiders who have no other platform in society.

Charitable Icon the wearness Handcrafted Icon the wearness Made In Europe Icon the wearness Organic Icon the wearness Female Empowerment Icon the wearness Eco-Frienly Icon the wearness Fair Icon the wearness

Read More

"I didn't want to spend my whole life using my capacities to build someone else's dreams. I want to see my own thoughts realized and inspire others to do the same," says Martina Offeh. The creative director is the mastermind behind ASHES & SOIL. She founded the label in 2019 and has since then focused on intercultural exchange and the representation of minorities in society.

Founder of Ashes and Soil - the wearness journal

ASHES & SOIL founder: Martina Offeh

In many regions along the West African coast, mentally ill people are marginalized by the community and do not receive professional help. Many of those affected do not know what is wrong with them at all. The first collection, "Introspection" is therefore dedicated to eight of them. On the company website ASHES & SOIL the label has documented the testimonials' stories about how people struggle with mental health problems and their stigma.  

The collection consists of eight styles, one for each testimonial: four wool coats, three leather jackets and one quilted jacket. Each piece reflects the story of one of the people affected. For example, the lining is printed with illustrated portraits and the integrated "story label" explains what the person has gone through. The proceeds from "Introspection" will be used to support the organization "On The Move e.V.", which promotes mental health worldwide.  

The current collection: ASHES AND SOIL - the wearness journal

The current collection of ASHES & SOIL

It is also important for the label to visually pick up the origin of the testimonials. That is why African-inspired details can be found in every item. For example, the lapel collar in one style is derived from the colourful dashiki, which are traditionally worn in West Africa. In general, AHES & SOIL works with the most authentic colour schemes, patterns and native fabrics possible.

Nevertheless, the brand's products are not made in Africa. The leather jackets are made of naturally tanned leather in Turkey. Wool coats and quilted jackets are produced in a local factory in Germany, where fair working conditions are guaranteed.

"We are on a journey to capture stories and redefine the possibilities of art by balancing our heritage, our craft and our beliefs," the label explains. We're excited to see what stories Ashes and Soil will tell next.  

SHOP OUR SELECTION OF ASHES & SOIL - DESIGN WITH STORYTELLING